Log InRegister

Reporting And Data

Burns (NRS629)

Latest Update: August 11, 2020
PROVIDE FEEDBACK

Reporting Information

Every provider of health care must report second or third degree burns to 5% or more of the body; burns to the upper respiratory tract or laryngeal adema resulting from inhalation of heated air; or burns which may result in death to the local fire department (counties w/populations > 45,000) or to the Nevada State Fire Marshall (counties w/populations < 45,000).

Responsible Party

Who Must Report?

Every provider of health care to whom any person comes or is brought for the treatment of:

      (a) Second or third degree burns to 5 percent or more of the body;

      (b) Burns to the upper respiratory tract or laryngeal edema resulting from the inhalation of heated air; or

      (c) Burns which may result in death,

(NRS629.045)

Deadlines

When Do I Report?

Promptly, or within 3 working days after treating the person

Method

How Do I Report?

Local fire department, or State Fire Marshal in counties whose population is less than 45,000 via form provided by State Fire Marshal "Burn Injury Report"

A person required to make a report shall, within 3 working days after treating the person, submit a written report to:

      (a) The appropriate local fire department in counties whose population is 45,000 or more; or

      (b) The State Fire Marshal in counties whose population is less than 45,000.

Contact Information

E-Mail Completed Form to: NVBurnInjury@dps.state.nv.us
c/o State Fire Marshal Investigation Bureau
Or Send to:
Nevada State Fire Marshal
Investigation Bureau
107 Jacobsen Way
Carson City, Nevada 89711

Authority

The legal mandate requiring reporting

 NRS 629.045  Provider of health care to report persons having certain burns; immunity of certain persons from civil action for disclosure.

      1.  Every provider of health care to whom any person comes or is brought for the treatment of:

      (a) Second or third degree burns to 5 percent or more of the body;

      (b) Burns to the upper respiratory tract or laryngeal edema resulting from the inhalation of heated air; or

      (c) Burns which may result in death,

shall promptly report that information to the appropriate local fire department.

      2.  The report required by subsection 1 must include:

      (a) The name and address of the person treated, if known;

      (b) The location of the person treated; and

      (c) The character and extent of the injuries.

      3.  A person required to make a report pursuant to subsection 1 shall, within 3 working days after treating the person, submit a written report to:

      (a) The appropriate local fire department in counties whose population is 45,000 or more; or

      (b) The State Fire Marshal in counties whose population is less than 45,000.

The report must be on a form provided by the State Fire Marshal.

      4.  A provider of health care and his or her agents and employees are immune from any civil action for any disclosures made in good faith in accordance with the provisions of this section or any consequential damages.

      (Added to NRS by 1991, 1896; A 2001, 19962011, 1300)

Current Documents

Documents related to this reporting
DISCLAIMER
Although many of these requirements apply to individual medical professionals and other types of hospitals and health care facilities, the information is presented solely to support Critical Access Hospitals. The reporting requirements and legal mandates on this site are not an exhaustive list and Nevada Rural Hospital Partners, Inc. bears no responsibility or liability for any hospitals' or providers' failure to comply with Federal or State laws or regulations.