Log InRegister

Reporting And Data

Medical Malpractice of Osteopathic Physician or Physician Assistant

Latest Update: August 11, 2020
PROVIDE FEEDBACK

Reporting Information

An osteopathic physician or physician assistant shall report to the Board any action for malpractice when receive a summons; any claim for malpractice submitted to arbitration or medication; any settlement, award, judgment, or other disposition of any action or claim; and any sanction imposed which are reportable to the NPDB.

Responsible Party

Who Must Report?

An osteopathic physician or physician assistant

Deadlines

When Do I Report?

not later than 45 days

Method

How Do I Report?

Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine via written report

Contact Information

Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine
2275 Corporate Circle, Suite 210
Henderson, NV 89074
702-732-2147
877-325-7828 (toll free)
702-732-2079 (fax)

Benefit/Penalty

Why Should I Report?

If the Board finds that an osteopathic physician or physician assistant has violated any provision of this section, the Board may impose a fine of not more than $5,000 against the osteopathic physician or physician assistant for each violation, in addition to any other fines or penalties permitted by law.

Publicly Displayed

Link to the website/ranking/grading/etc. where the data is published

All reports made by an osteopathic physician or physician assistant pursuant to this section are public records.

Authority

The legal mandate requiring reporting

NRS 633.527  Osteopathic physician and physician assistant required to report certain information concerning malpractice and sanctions imposed against osteopathic physician or physician assistant; administrative fine for failure to report; reports deemed public records.

      1.  An osteopathic physician or physician assistant shall report to the Board:

      (a) Any action for malpractice against the osteopathic physician or physician assistant not later than 45 days after the osteopathic physician or physician assistant receives service of a summons and complaint for the action;

      (b) Any claim for malpractice against the osteopathic physician or physician assistant that is submitted to arbitration or mediation not later than 45 days after the claim is submitted to arbitration or mediation;

      (c) Any settlement, award, judgment or other disposition of any action or claim described in paragraph (a) or (b) not later than 45 days after the settlement, award, judgment or other disposition; and

      (d) Any sanctions imposed against the osteopathic physician or physician assistant that are reportable to the National Practitioner Data Bank not later than 45 days after the sanctions are imposed.

      2.  If the Board finds that an osteopathic physician or physician assistant has violated any provision of this section, the Board may impose a fine of not more than $5,000 against the osteopathic physician or physician assistant for each violation, in addition to any other fines or penalties permitted by law.

      3.  All reports made by an osteopathic physician or physician assistant pursuant to this section are public records.

      (Added to NRS by 2003, 3441; A 2011, 1042)

Notes

Any other pertinent information

Click here or see below for the Nevada State Board of Osteopathic Medicine Malpractice Claim Reporting Form.

Current Documents

Documents related to this reporting
DISCLAIMER
Although many of these requirements apply to individual medical professionals and other types of hospitals and health care facilities, the information is presented solely to support Critical Access Hospitals. The reporting requirements and legal mandates on this site are not an exhaustive list and Nevada Rural Hospital Partners, Inc. bears no responsibility or liability for any hospitals' or providers' failure to comply with Federal or State laws or regulations.